Brad Gentry, center, and Jeff McNiell of the Houston Herald accept seven awards Saturday on behalf of the newspaper at the annual Missouri Better Newspaper Contest in Kansas City. They are pictured with Vicki Russell of Columbia, president of the Missouri Press Association.

The Houston Herald received seven awards Saturday in the state newspaper industry’s annual Missouri Better Newspaper Contest. The announcement came at the conclusion of the 143rd annual Missouri Press Convention in Kansas City.

The Herald’s take exceeded the number of awards presented to newspapers collectively in south-central Missouri.

The Herald took top honors in two categories – best weekly newspaper Web site in Missouri and a feature story written by Kathy Richardson on chavivaris. The Herald’s Web site – – has won the top prize in two of the last three years.

Richardson also won second place for the best editorial cartoon among the state’s weekly newspapers.

The Herald’s local business coverage won third among the state’s weeklies.

Editor Jeff McNiell’s work was recognized with an honorable mention for a photo illustration showing the swing all-state baseball player Caleb Smith.

An out-of-state panel of judges also recognized the Herald’s news content and service to its community.

Representing the Herald at the meeting were Publisher Brad Gentry and McNiell. Gentry serves on the Missouri Press Association’s 11-member board of directors.

Others who begin new terms in January are: Kevin Jones, president, the St. Louis American; Joe May, publisher of the Mexico Ledger, first vice president; Phil Conger, publisher of the Bethany Republican-Clipper, second vice president; Walt Gilbert, Lakeway Publishers of Missouri, Louisiana, treasurer; Steve Fairchild, publisher of the Mount Vernon Lawrence County Record, secretary; directors Richard Gard, Missouri Lawyers Media; Joe Spaar, The Odessan; Jeff Schrag, Springfield Daily Events; Jon Rust, Rust Communications, Cape Girardeau Southeast Missourian; Dennis Warden, Gasconade County Republican, Owensville; and Kate Martin, Perry County Republic-Monitor, Perryville.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply