Incumbents Doug Castleman and Sharon Horbyk were re-elected to three-year terms on the Houston school board.

Few contested races in the county brought a light turnout to election precincts in the county on Tuesday.

Only about 9 percent – 1,373 – bothered to travel to vote, according to a tally by County Clerk Don Troutman, who termed the turnout “sad.”

Incumbents were returned to the Houston board of education. Members Sharon Horbyk and Douglas C. Castleman were retained. The count was: Horbyk, 355; Castleman, 493; John Impey, 155; and Darren Ice, 284. They are three-year terms.

Janet Wiseman won re-election to a five-year term on the Texas County Memorial Hospital board of trustees. She won over Michael Mutzebaugh, 768-502. Wiseman won in eight of nine precincts and in absentee balloting.

Marian Gilbert and Logan Elliott won seats in a tight vote on the Success board of education. The count: Deanna Filkins, 34; Gilbert, 37; Elliott, 36; and Kelly Bean, 26.

In county voting, Jeff Meyers and Jason Greear each received nine votes for Summersville School board for two posts. Jeff Atchison had eight.

For Plato school board, Dewayne A. Baker and Brandi Niebruegge Couch had 81 and 77 votes, respectively, in Texas County balloting. The district includes voting precincts in other counties. Pete Scurlock had 37 votes, while Mickey Bowers had 21.

Winning seats on the Cabool City Council were Sam Mudd, Ward I, and Jim Sigman, Ward II. Mudd won over Larry Baker, 67-46. Sigman beat Terry Jones, 96-64.

Cabool voters also extended a sales tax earmarked for transportation needs. The half-cent sales tax won 155-95.

Voting was nearly non-existent at Summersville, while 16.34 percent turned out at the Houston precinct. Of the 1,373 votes cast, 595 came from Houston. The only other precinct in triple digits was at Cabool, where contested city races brought 285 to the polls.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply Cancel reply