About 18 percent of the county's 16,139 registered voters arrived at polls Tuesday. That's 2,898.

Voters decided several contested races for city, school board and townships. 

Texas County Clerk Don Troutman said about 18 percent of the county’s registered voters — 2,898 — traveled to polls. The highest turnout was in the Houston precinct, where 30 percent voted. A school district bond issue was on the ballot and approved.

At Cabool, Jerald Sigman was elected city marshal for a four-year term after defeating Randy L. Hall, 225-132.

Licking Mayor Linda Miller was elected over Les Thoroughman, 83-77. In Licking’s Ward I the vote was: Leland Miller, 13; Danny Wade, 65; and Andrew Hoemann, 4. In Ward II, Joyce Cook won over Dale Krewson, 40-37.

Three persons were elected to the Texas County Health Department board. The vote: C.J. Smith, 1,664; Kirby Holmes, 1,448; Marie Lasater, 1,242; and Caiti Burks, 1,113.

Contested races for school boards were decided. Shawn Watson and Brad Roberts won seats at Cabool. The vote: Watson, 354; Brenda J. Jarrett, 190; Darrell Christeson, 164; Steve Hawkins, 173; and Roberts, 227.

In the Texas County precinct for two seats on the Plato board of education the vote was: Dewayne A. Baker, 123; Darrell Thomas, 108; and Brandi Biebruegge Couch, 97.

At Raymondville, Cody Neugebauer and Aaron Scantlin were elected to the school board. The tally, Shalena Purcell, 37; Neugebauer, 97; Cathy Boutilier, 51; and Scantlin, 81.

In Piney Township, incumbent Don Collins and Don Gaston won seats. The vote was Collins, 630; William Schmidt, 337; and Don Gaston, 783.

In Upton Township, Ernie Mesa and Earl Keith Roberts were elected. The tally: George Sholtz, 50; Roberts, 84; William Brown, 47; Mesa, 91; and Clarence “Rocky” Dailing, 49.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply Cancel reply