Various elected positions were filled balloting in Texas County on Tuesday. About 16 percent arrived to precincts.

Several filings are reported for offices that will be decided in April elections. The deadline for candidacy is later this month.

A trio filed for three positions on the Houston board of education. Incumbents Sam Kelley and Jo Holland are seeking three-year terms, as is Russell Gaither of Houston. Dr. Tom Dunn’s term also expires. No additional candidacy had been made as of Monday.

Three persons filed for three seats on the Raymondville board of education.

They are incumbents Michael King and Don Schweighauser, as well as Shalena Purcell. Paul Murray is the other incumbent.

No one has filed at Success School, a school spokesperson said Monday. The incumbents whose terms expire are Benny Bean, Ross Olson and Carl Huff. All are for three-year positions.

Filing for three seats on the Plato board of education are: Kristi Tracy Atterberry, Doug Caldwell, incumbent; Ralph Koehler and Kim Murry Hodges, incumbent. The other incumbent is Chad Todd. The central office was closed Monday.

Five persons filed for seats on the Houston City Council.

They are incumbents Mary Barnes, Ward I (who was appointed earlier to fill a vacancy); Joe Honeycutt, Ward I; Michael E. Moore, Ward I; Sheila Walker, Ward II; and Don Romines, Ward III. 

Incumbent Mark Hampton is seeking a five-year term on the TCMH board of trustees. There are no terms expiring for the Texas County Health Department.

The deadline for filing is 5 p.m. Jan. 21.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply