Filings for offices in the August Primary continue.

Filings close Tuesday for positions on several boards that will be filled in during elections in April.

Here is the roundup:

Incumbents Sam Kelley and Jo Holland are seeking three-year terms, as is Russell Gaither of Houston, on the Houston board of education. Dr. Tom Dunn’s term also expires.

Four persons have filed for three seats on the Raymondville board of education: They are incumbents Michael King, Don Schweighauser and Paul Murray, as well as Shalena Purcell.

The incumbents whose terms expire at Success School are Benny Bean, Ross Olson and Carl Huff. All are for three-year positions.

Filing for three seats on the Plato board of education are: Kristi Tracy Atterberry, Doug Caldwell, incumbent; Ralph Koehler and Kim Murry Hodges, incumbent. The other incumbent is Chad Todd.

Five persons have filed for seats on the Houston City Council. They are incumbents Mary Barnes, Ward I (who was appointed earlier to fill a vacancy); Joe Honeycutt, Ward I; Michael E. Moore, Ward I; Sheila Walker, Ward II; and Don Romines, Ward III. 

Incumbent Mark Hampton is seeking a five-year term on the TCMH board of trustees. There are no terms expiring for the Texas County Health Department. 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply