The CEO of Texas County Memorial Hospital will soon be a member of the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame.

Wes Murray was a member of the 1979 Three Rivers Community College men’s basketball team that won the junior college championship. That team is one of two teams — along with the 1992 TRCC national champs — as well as 10 individuals and three programs that will be enshrined Nov. 6 in Cape Girardeau.

Murray’s 1979 Raiders finished 38-3, beating Mercer County 60-59 in overtime for the championship. Three Rivers had won the semifinals 109-103 in double overtime against Western Texas, then coached by future Arkansas Razorbacks coach Nolan Richardson.

Gene Bess, who coached those TRCC teams, will be named the same day a Missouri Sports Legend.

Other inductees are:

• Blake DeWitt, baseball (Sikeston/MLB)

• James Wilder, football (Sikeston/Mizzou/NFL)

• Mark Littell, baseball (Gideon/MLB)

• Eddie Moss, football (Poplar Bluff/NFL)

• Dr. Rick Wright, sports physician

• Miles Smith, track (St. Louis Riverview Gardens)

• Lennies McFerren, basketball (Charleston/New Madrid)

• Lana Richmond, softball (Southeast Mo. State)

• Brad Wittenborn, soccer (Notre Dame)

• Bob Stolzer, football (Ste. Genevieve)

• Capahas baseball (Cape Girardeau)

• Scott County Central boys’ and girls’ basketball programs

• Valle Catholic High School football

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply Cancel reply