County Voters to Polls Today

Texas County voters travel to the polls Tuesday to decide party nominees in advance of the November General Election. The election results will set off three months of campaigning after voters decide their party nominees on the county level and voice their preference for state offices.

Polls open at 6 a.m. at 10 voting precincts across the county. They close at 7 p.m. The Texas County Courthouse will be open for absentee balloting from 8 a.m. until noon Saturday.

On the county level, races for sheriff, associate county commissioner and assessor are the centerpieces of the Primary Election.

On the Republican Ticket, three men are seeking their party’s nomination for sheriff. They are Matt Thompson, Steven H. Lawhead and Wes Ellison. The winner faces Sheriff Carl Watson in November.

Two women are seeking the GOP nod for county assessor. They are incumbent Debbie James and challenger Lynn Cheek. The winner will oppose either Democrat Shalena Purcell or Terry Kell in the fall.

The retirement of Joe Ben Whetstine has two Republicans vying for county commissioner in District I: John Casey and Sharon Rees. The winner faces Democrat David Adkison.

County Commissioner Linda Garrett, a Republican, will oppose either Linda S. Miller or Rueben Roedeske, who are seeking the Democratic nomination in District 2.

The 144th House District includes a portion of Texas County. Incumbent Van Kelly could not seek re-election because of term limits. Opting to replace him are Republican nominees Lillard “Del” Davis, Tony Dugger and Anthony Kelly. The winner faces Dennis L. Chilton, a Democrat.

In the 147th District, Don Wells, a Republican, is running unopposed.

In the county, running unopposed are: Collector-Treasurer Tammy Cantrell, Public Administrator Theresa Campbell, Coroner Tom Whittaker and Surveyor Louie E. Carmack Jr.

A race at the statewide level is garnering much of the attention. Republicans Sarah Steelman, state treasurer; and Kenny Hulshof, a congressman, are the leading contenders for their party’s nomination. A Cabool instructor, Scott Long, also is running. The winner advances to face presumptive Democrat nominee Jay Nixon in the fall.

Four persons are seeking the Democrat nomination for attorney general. They are: Chris Koster, Margaret Donnelly, Jeff Harris and Molly Williams. The winner faces Mike Gibbons, who is running unopposed on the Republican Ticket.

On the Democrat Ticket, races are on the ballot for lieutenant governor and state treasurer. Republican faithful also will see a race for lieutenant governor.

Other races set for the fall: Sen. Chuck Purgason, a Republican, will oppose Democrat Eric Reeve. U.S. Rep. Jo Ann Emerson, a Republican, will receive a challenge from Joe Allen, the Democrat nominee. State Treasurer Robin Carnahan, a Democrat, will oppose Republican Mitchell “Mitch” Hubbard.

A sample ballot for Tuesday’s election appears in the Herald.

Watch election results on the Herald’s information channel seen on cable in Licking, Houston and Raymondville households, as well as at

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply