A line forms at the Texas County Administrative Center at 8 a.m. as filings open for the August primary. From left: Doug Gaston, Marci Mosley, Phyllis Staley, Rita Williams and Susan Warkentin.

The first day of county filings saw nine persons complete candidacy paperwork for the August Primary election.

When County Clerk Don Troutman opened the doors to his office at the Texas County Administrative Center there already was a line. Troutman was the first to file.

Here are the candidates who had filed as of Wednesday morning:

Associate circuit judge: Doug Gaston and Brad Eidson, Republicans, Houston.

Presiding commissioner: Andy Sodano, Republican, Houston; and David M. “Mike” Impey, Democrat, Houston. Incumbent Don Shelhammer, a Republican, will not seek re-election.

Circuit clerk: Rita A. Williams, Democrat, Houston; and Marci Mosley, Republican, Houston.

County clerk: Troutman.

Recorder of deeds: incumbent Phyllis Staley, Democrat, Houston; and Susan Warkentin, Republican, Houston.

There were no filings for county prosecutor.

Reps. Don Wells and Tony Dugger, who represent Texas County in the Missouri House, filed for re-election. Both are Republicans.

In the 8th Congressional District race, filing were Tommy Sowers of Rolla, a Democrat; and Bob Parker, a Raymondville Republican.

Circuit Judge Mary Sheffield also will seek re-election.


Leave a comment

Leave a Reply