About 18 percent of the county's 16,139 registered voters arrived at polls Tuesday. That's 2,898.

The filing period for candidates for several local public offices around Texas County that will be voted on in April will begin Tuesday, Dec. 14, and end Jan. 18.

Included in the election will be the position of Houston mayor, currently occupied by Steve Hutcheson, and two-year term Houston City Council seats held by aldermen Sharon Sillyman, Bruce Wilson and Bill Maxwell. Wilson and Maxwell will not seek re-election.

A trio of three-year term positions on the Houston board of education will also be on the ballot, including seats now held by Tom Dunn, Jo Holland and Darrell Scheets.

Positions on the Success and Raymondville school boards will be included as well, including seats occupied by Bob Bates and Carl Shelton in Success and Robert Ellsworth, James Richards and Don Schweighauser in Raymondville.

Also on the ballot will be a five-year term position on the Texas County Memorial Hospital board held by Omanez Focker and a pair of four-year term seats on the Texas County Health Department board, now held by Dianne Ingalls and Sally Smith.

Townships also will elect representatives.


Leave a comment

Leave a Reply Cancel reply