Two persons filed today for Texas County offices.

Ron Kramer of Raymondville will seek the Democratic nomination for District 2 county commissioner.

Jeff Breedlove, a Licking Republican, completed candidacy paperwork last week. He will challenge incumbent Linda Garrett in August.

Filing for the Republican nomination for collector-treasurer is Jack Hines of Willow Springs. The incumbent, Democrat Tammy Cantrell of Houston, filed earlier.

Filings close at 5 p.m. Tuesday.


Filings for county, state and federal offices close Tuesday for positions decided in elections in August and November.

The deadline for filing is 5 p.m. Party candidates will be determined in an August primary followed by the November General Election.

Chuck Manier of Houston is the latest county candidate filing. He is seeking the Republican nomination for county surveyor.

Incumbent commissioners Linda L. Garrett of Licking, District No. 2; and John Casey of Houston, District 1, are seeking re-election. Both are Republicans. Casey has not drawn any opposition.

Three Republicans are seeking a four-year term as Texas County sheriff. They are: Wes Ellison, Willow Springs; James Sigman, Cabool; and Tim Ceplina, Houston. The incumbent, Carl Watson, a Solo Democrat, will not seek re-election to focus on his health. Lt. Melissa Dunn of the department filed recently on the Democratic Ticket.

County Assessor Debbie James of Solo, a Republican, is seeking re-election, as are Democrat Tammy Cantrell of Houston, Texas County collector-treasurer; and Coroner Thomas C. Whittaker of Cabool, a Democrat.

Bob Parker of Raymondville entered paperwork on the opening day of filings for the Republican nomination for the 8th Congressional District. Rep. Jo Ann Emerson, R-Cape Girardeau, filed for her seat March 15. Two Democrats also have completed paperwork: Jack Rushin, Popular Bluff, March 15; and Todd Mahn, DeSoto, March 19.

Public Administrator Theresa Campbell of Cabool, a Democrat, is seeking re-election. Republican Connie Thompson of Cabool filed on the Republican Ticket.

Texas County is in the 33rd Senatorial District under a decision by a bipartisan panel. The district includes Webster, Douglas, Ozark, Wright, Texas, Howell, Carter and Ripley counties.

Filing are Rep. Darrell Pollock, Lebanon; Rep. Don Wells, Cabool; and Mike Cunningham, Rogersville, a former state representative and a Senate aide to Sen. Jay Wasson; and Rep. Ward Franz of West Plains. Pollock would have to move to be in the new district.

Robert Ross of Eunice filed for the Republican nomination for the 142nd House Seat. Joining him are Houston’s Chris Purvis and Don Bordwell of Evening Shade.

Associate Circuit Judge Colin Long of Waynesville filed for the Democratic nomination for 25th District circuit judge. Bill Hickle of Rolla declared on the Republican Ticket.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply