About 13 percent of the county's registered voters traveled to polls Tuesday. That represents 2,048 voters

Houston School District patrons elected two new board members in voting Tuesday that saw one of highest turnouts in the county in balloting that decided city, school and hospital boards.

Tadd McCloud and Jim Root won three-year terms on the Houston board of education. The vote was: McCloud, 483; James Bathon, 136; Jim Root, 443; Troy “Butch” Castleman, 268; Robert J. Enfield Sr., 48; and Kay Walker, 344. Incumbents Kathy Hutcheson and Steve Pounds did not seek re-election.

About 22 percent — or 805 — voted at the Houston voting precinct. Countywide, the turnout was 13 percent or 2,048.

There will be a new face on the Houston City Council. Sheila Campbell Walker won over challenger Phil Meyer, 77-13. Walker takes a seat vacated by her mother, Joyce Campbell, who exits city government after years of service as city clerk and a council member.

Jim Perry of Cabool won a five-year term on the Texas County Memorial Hospital board of trustees. He won over Gail Crum of Houston, 1,033-859.

Incumbent Kent Sturgeon and Rawly Gorman won seats on the Licking school board. The tally was: Chris Storm, 85; Gorman, 148; Sturgeon, 183; and Tina R. Revelle, 32.

In Texas County voting, the vote for Cabool board of education was: Shaun E. Watson, 180; Edwin Rogers, 185; Vera Rose, 197; and Liz Durham, 121. With Douglas County, the vote was: Rose, 208; Rogers, 203; Watson, 194; and Durham, 127.

The count for Plato school board in Texas County was: Penny Morrison, 74; Tina Routh, 32; Mike Friend, 75; and David Hall, 71. (Texas County voting)

Kevin Irwin and Michael Glidewell won three-year positions on the Success School District board. The count: Glidewell, 54; Mary Glidewell, 44; and Kevin Irwin, 66. Two-year terms went to Carl D. Huff Jr. and Ross Olson. The vote: Olson, 54; Angela Hammock, 49; and Huff, 68. One-year terms were won by Jason Burch and Nancy Davis. The tally: Burch, 73; Davis, 71; and Don Kern, 27.

Michael Stoops and Larry Powell led Texas County voting for Summersville school board. The vote was: Dustin Cooper, 74; Powell, 80; Jeff Atchison, 67; and Stoops, 98. In Shannon County, the vote was: Cooper, 25; Powell, 22; Atchison, 52; and Stoops, 69. With both counties, Atchison and Stoops were the victors. 

Plato, Cabool and Summersville school districts include parts of other counties – this is the only Texas County voting.

In Texas County voting, there was a tie for a two-year Summersville alderman seat. Lillian I. Platts and Roy Broce each received 37 votes. Other challengers, Richard Nelson, 19; and Mike Jackson, 27.

The vote for two Summersville council one-year terms was: Jeanne Shafer, 27; Jackie Lee, 44; Melonie Bradshaw, 12; and Lloyd Jackson, 37.

Sam Mudd won re-election to a two-year Ward I council term at Cabool. Mudd won over Randy Jarrett, 60-38. Jim Sigman easily took the Ward II position over Darrell W. Polm, 94-31.

PDF: Election results

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply Cancel reply