Houston Schools

The Houston board of education approved hiring four new employees during last Tuesday’s closed session of its meeting.

Members unanimously approved hiring Vince McCrosky (high school social studies), Donald McCallister (maintenance), Brandon Sigman (first grade) and Natalie Tang (first grade) for the 2012-’13 school year.

The board also hired Jody Jarrett as new middle school principal by a 7-0 vote. She and Steven Milligan were interviewed by the board.

Also in closed session, board members:

–Accepted resignations from Mandy Adey (high school cheerleading co-sponsor), Ryan Munson (assistant middle school basketball coach) and Diana Smallwood (paraprofessional in middle school).

––Extended the workday of Wanda Ichord, elementary school secretary, by 30 minutes per day to align her position with those of other building secretaries.

––Approved a one-time salary adjustment of $2,580.72 for Clinton Waters, who will serve as interim high school principal the final month of the school year following the early exit of former principal Brenda Dennis.

––Tabled a request from Jennifer Sawyer, high and middle school nurse, regarding a contract adjustment.

––Approved an amended list of non-certified staff for the 2012-’13 school year.

––Heard from administrators regarding coaching and other extra duty positions for the next school year in anticipation of voting on those positions at the regular May.

Board members present were Doug Castleman, Sharon Horbyk, Sam Kelley, Jo Holland, Tom Dunn, Tadd McCoud and Jim Root.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply Cancel reply