Holly Atterberry and Kerry York received ,000 educational scholarships from the TCMH Healthcare Foundation. Pictured are, from left: Jay Gentry, Healthcare Foundation director; Atterberry; York; and Conway Hawn and Linda Pamperien, Healthcare Foundation board members. 

Two local women recently received $1,000 scholarships from the Texas County Memorial Hospital Healthcare Foundation to assist with their educational costs for the 2014 spring school semester.

Holly Atterberry of Plato and Kerry York of Houston were chosen among several applicants by members of the Healthcare Foundation board of directors. Both have been recipients of TCMH Healthcare Foundation scholarships in the past.

“Educational scholarships are a focus area of the TCMH Healthcare Foundation,” said Jay Gentry, Healthcare Foundation director. “Our board of directors believes in the importance of education for area students that are pursuing training in healthcare-related fields.”

Atterberry is pursuing a master’s of science in nursing for the family nurse practitioner program through Maryville University in St. Louis. She works as a registered nurse in the medical surgical department at TCMH.

York is pursuing a bachelor of science in nursing through Cox College in Springfield. She is a case manager and registered nurse for TCMH Home Health of the Ozarks.

The Healthcare Foundation awards educational scholarships for students pursuing additional higher education each spring and fall. This fall, the Healthcare Foundation will award endowed scholarship funds in addition to the Healthcare Foundation scholarships.

Complete scholarship information and the scholarship application is available online at www.tcmhfoundation.org.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply