Rob Coffey talks strategy with junior Nathan Poynter during Houston's district opener against Licking. That turned out to be the final game for Coffey, whose resignation was accepted Tuesday night.

Citing personal reasons, Houston High School boys’ basketball coach Rob Coffey is leaving the program.

Coffey’s resignation was accepted Tuesday night by the school board. He said he plans to return to his hometown.

“It was a very difficult decision, but I have decided that I will not be returning to Houston next year because I am moving back to Springfield,” Coffey said. “I love my job, my students and my coworkers but Houston just isn’t home for me.”

Coffey, who teaches business classes at Houston, was named head coach in the summer of 2013 following the departure of Richard Rose. The Tigers were a combined 9-39 under Coffey, including a 3-20 mark this past season.

Coffey’s departure continues what has been a revolving door of coaches in the HHS boys’ basketball program. Only two of the last six head coaches – Coffey and Brent Hall from 2008-’10 – have stayed more than one season. Wayne Jessen, Dustin Kirkman, Tom Brown and Rose all left after one year.

The next head coach will be the program’s eighth leader in 11 seasons.

“The continued turnover in the program is concern for myself and the program. We’re looking for stability in that position,” Superintendent Scott Dill said. “It’s important the community knows we have several teaching positions we’re trying to fill at the middle school and high school levels that will be open to coaching opportunities as well. We’re working hard within the district to make sure we have the right type of positions available to lure a coach and make it attractive. This is a good school district and a good opportunity.”

The next head coach of the Houston High School boys’ basketball team will be the program’s eighth leader in 11 seasons. Here are the past seven coaches and their tenures:

  • Aaron Griffin (2005-’07)
  • Wayne Jessen (2007-’08)
  • Brent Hall (2008-’10)
  • Dustin Kirkman (2010-’11)
  • Tom Brown (2011-’12)
  • Richard Rose (2012-’13)
  • Rob Coffey (2013-’15)

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply Cancel reply