HHS football players, from left, Chance Hunter, Connor Clifton, Dalton James, Michael Clayton and Josh Hurst, were named to the all-SCA team.

Five members of the Houston High School football team were selected to all-SCA team.

Chance Hunter, Connor Clifton and Dalton James led the Tigers’ picks with positions on the second team. Michael Clayton and Josh Hurst received honorable mention.

Hunter, a senior running back, led HHS in rushing and scoring in 2016. He carried the ball 152 for 837 yards and eight touchdowns. He also had two kickoff returns for scores.

Clifton, also a senior, led the Tigers’ defense with 96 tackles –– 67 solo and 29 assists. He had five tackles for losses, one sack and returned a fumble for a touchdown.

James, a junior, was Houston’s lone lineman named to the all-conference team. His selection was on the offensive line.

Clayton, a junior fullback, was the lead blocker for Hunter. In his limited touches he carried the ball four times for 12 yards and had six catches for 57 yards and a touchdown. He also had a pair of two-point conversion catches.

Hurst, a junior linebacker, ranked third on the team with 73 total tackles, including seven tackles for losses. He tied for the team lead with two fumble recoveries and caused another.

Mountain View-Liberty quarterback Josh Pruett was the SCA back of the year and his coach, Darin Acklin, was the coach of the year. Latham Melton-Farmer of Mountain Grove was the lineman of the year.

Here are the all-SCA selections:



Josh Pruett, senior, Liberty

Running backs

Marcos Rodriguez, senior, Liberty

Trystan Short, senior, Mountain Grove


Brenton Bush, senior, Liberty

J.J. McGowan, senior, Salem

Tight end

Andy Amos, senior, Mountain Grove

Offensive line

Colton Skyles, senior, Ava

Chase Smith, junior, Liberty

Caleb Clark, junior, Liberty

Steele Buttram, senior, Mountain Grove

Eli Russell, senior, Thayer

Defensive line

Kole Orchard, junior, Liberty

Latham Melton-Farmer, senior, Mountain Grove

Jordan Gower, senior, Thayer

Bob Shanks, senior, Willow Springs


Kelly McDonald, senior, Ava

Chance Barbe, junior, Mountain Grove

Trevor Thompson, sophomore, Mountain Grove

Matt Garrison, senior, Willow Springs

Defensive backs

Carter Otwell, junior, Mountain Grove

Eli Floyd, senior, Salem

Dakota McDonald, junior, Willow Springs

Place kicker

Josh Pruett, Liberty


Bryce Duddridge, junior, Willow Springs



Zak Eplin, senior, Salem

Running backs

Chance Hunter, senior, Houston

Garrett Young, junior, Thayer


Austin Bowers, junior, Thayer

Patrick Lane, junior, Mountain Grove

Tight ends

Andrew Holden, sophomore, Liberty

Danny Gorham, senior, Thayer

Offensive line

Brandon Johnson, senior, Ava

Dalton James, junior, Houston

Austin Williams, senior, Mountain Grove

Trenton Thompson, senior, Mountain Grove

Evan Howard, junior, Salem

Defensive line

Bailey Bewley, junior, Ava

Brodyn Kenaga, sophomore, Liberty

Jon Arzt, senior, Salem

Remington Childers, junior, Thayer


Quincey McDonald, junior, Ava

Connor Clifton, senior, Houston

Dustin Jarboe, senior, Mountain Grove

Taylor Shipp, junior, Salem

Defensive backs

Caleb Johnson, sophomore, Ava

Will Gourley, junior, Mountain Grove

Ben Wake, senior, Willow Springs



Caleb Johnson, sophomore, Ava

Running backs

Dalton Rader, senior, Willow Springs

Stephen Copeland, sophomore, Ava

Caleb Manning, senior, Cabool

Trey Talber, sophomore, Willow Springs

Xavier Elwood, senior, Salem

Kenton Coonts, junior, Cabool


Michael Lane, sophomore, Ava

Clay Williams, senior, Thayer

Tight ends

Gavin Veach, junior, Mountain Grove

Michael Clayton, junior, Houston

Offensive line

Dawson Russell, junior, Thayer

Josh Reese, junior, Cabool

Jeff Hull, senior, Ava

Zeke Webb, junior, Willow Springs

Adam Shaw, senior, Liberty

Ivac Chittendon, sophomore, Ava

Defensive line

Jett Crawford, junior, Cabool

T.J. Drone, sophomore, Mountain Grove

Sam Chaney, junior, Willow Springs

Max Rudolph, senior, Liberty

J.D. Bowling, junior, Salem

Eli Maggard, senior, Ava

Justice Wilson, senior, Ava


Zach Taylor, senior, Cabool

Caleb Manning, senior, Cabool

Ayden Stone, sophomore, Thayer

Grady Cramer, junior, Mountain Grove

Josh Hurst, junior, Houston

Defensive backs

Logan Miller, senior, Cabool

Jeff Haven, junior, Thayer

Zyman Langley, senior, Thayer

Zach Hoots, senior, Cabool

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply Cancel reply