Filings close Tuesday for seats on school, county, water and township boards. The election is April 4.

Here is an update on filings:

Jeremy St. John has filed in Houston’s Ward II. He will oppose the incumbent Charles “Chalky” Wells. John Thomas and Kimberly Bittle filed for the Ward III seat of David Arthur, who is seeking re-election. In Ward I, Donnie Wilson filed for the seat of Mary Barnes, who is seeking re-election. Both seats are two-year terms. Mayor Don Tottingham is running unopposed.

Six people have filed for three seats on the Houston board of education. The latest to declare their candidacy are Darren Ice and Timothy Malam. Incumbents Jo Holland and Sam Kelley are seeking re-election to three-year terms. Also filing earlier were Lisa Scott and Christie K. Koch. The other incumbent, Russell Gaither, has not filed.

C.J. Smith of Houston and Kirby Holmes of Cabool are seeking re-election. Madeline Miller of Cabool also has declared her candidacy. All filed for a four-year seat on the Texas County Health Department board. Another term expiring is Marie Lasater of Licking.

Incumbent Jim Perry of Cabool is seeking re-election to a five-year term on the Texas County Memorial Hospital board of trustees.

Don Schweighauser and Shannon Sanders are seeking re-election on the Raymondville school board. The three-year slot held by Paul Murray also expires. 

Four persons have filed for a trio of three-year positions on the Plato board of education.

They are: Billy Waters, Doug Caldwell, Landon Johnson and Joanne Daniels. Kim Hodges, Caldwell and Robert Crabtree are the incumbents.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply Cancel reply