The Houston school board extended the contracts of its building principals on Tuesday. From left: Justin Copley (high school), Eric Sloan (assistant high school), Amanda Munson (middle school) and Jody Jarrett (elementary).

The Houston School board has unanimously extended the contracts of its building principals.

Justin Copley (high school), Eric Sloan (assistant high school), Amanda Munson (middle school) and Jody Jarrett (elementary) were all given extensions through the 2020-21 school year during Tuesday’s monthly meeting.

Copley and Munson are completing their first years with the district. Both were under one-year contacts. Sloan and Jarrett, who are in their fourth years in their respective principal positions, were under contract through 2020.

Last month, the board extended the contract of Dr. Allen Moss, superintendent, through 2022. Moss joined the district in 2016.

Also during the monthly meeting, school board members:

•Set summer school for May 28 through June 20. The 16 sessions will be from 7:40 a.m. until 3:30 p.m. with limited transportation. Breakfast and lunch will be served. Sessions will be four days each week –– Tuesday through Friday the first week following Memorial Day and Monday through Thursday the other three weeks.

•Approved the 2019-2020 school calendar. Classes will begin Aug. 15. Graduation was set for May 9, 2020, and classes dismiss May 13.

PDF: The Houston School board approved the 2019-20 academic calendar last night. Take a look at the important dates.

•Hired Clay Ashworth as assistant middle school baseball coach for the 2018-19 school year and Stacy Fletcher as special education process coordinator for the 2019-20 school year.

•Were recognized for their service to the district and community by Moss. Amy Allen, of Bright Futures, presented T-shirts from the program to each board member.

•Voted to remove the home the district owns at the corner of Bryan and Chestnut streets. A bid of $7,200 from Jared Smith was approved.

PDF: Minutes from Tuesday’s Houston school board meeting

•Were led in the Pledge of Allegiance by Jude Cornman, the middle school student of the month, and nominees Morgan Royale, Aubrey Crockett, Anna Gale, Cadence Wade, Angie Smith, Exekial Grange, Mackenzie Bryan, Brysen Frisbee, Madi Reed, Jake Allen and Lacey Cavaness.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply