The Houston softball team received the No. 3 seed Wednesday in District 7.

The Lady Tigers, who are hosting the district tournament, will face No. 6 Summersville at noon Monday to kick off the postseason. All games will be played on Carter Field.

Plato received the district’s top seed, followed by Koshkonong, Houston, Cabool, Thayer, Summersville, Liberty and Licking. 

Houston (12-5) beat Summersville 20-4 on March 29. The Lady Tigers lost twice to Koshkonong – 12-11 in extra innings on March 22 and 10-2 on April 12 – and were beaten 8-1 by Plato on April 8. 

The Lady Tigers, who won the South Central Association championship, conclude the regular season at home Friday against Licking. 

Here is the district tournament schedule:

Monday’s first round

(3) Houston vs. (6) Summersville, noon

(4) Cabool vs. (5) Thayer, 2 p.m.

(2) Koshkonong vs. (7) Liberty, 4 p.m.

(1) Plato vs. (8) Licking, 6 p.m.

Tuesday’s semifinals

Plato-Licking winner vs. Cabool-Thayer winner, 4 p.m.

Koshkonong-Liberty winner vs. Houston-Summersville winner, 6 p.m.

Thursday’s championship

Semifinal winners, 5 p.m.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply