Houston choir members receiving gold medals at the State Music Festival, front row from left: Zach Brannan, Ebin Smith, Summer Floyd, Jade Sisco, Gracey Sullins and Leila Shelhammer. Second row: Bailey Moore, Haley Wilber, Hunter Brim, Philip Scott and Adryanna Kirn. Third row: William Wilson, Lucas Bailey, Lance Smith ad Tyler Gross. They will perform Friday.

The 2019 State Music Festival was a record-setting one for the Houston choir department.

Lucas Bailey became the first HHS student to earn three gold medals at the competition while the TTB (tenor 1, tenor 2, bass) ensemble is the program’s first all men’s group to earn a gold medal.

All 15 members of the Houston choir who competed earned medals. Sixteen of those were gold medals.

Bailey won a gold in vocal solo and was also a member of the TTB and SATB (soprano, alto, tenor and bass) ensembles that won gold. He was joined on the SATB by Jade Sisco, Hunter Brim, Summer Floyd, Bailey Moore, Zach Brannan, William Wilson and Lance Smith. The other members of the TTB were Brannan, Wilson, Ebin Smith, Lance Smith, Tyler Gross and Phillip Scott.

In vocal solos, Lance Smith and Brannan won silver medals. Floyd received a bronze.

Houston’s SSA (soprano 1, soprano 2, alto) ensemble received a silver. It included Sisco, Floyd, Moore, Haley Wilber, Adryanna Kirn, Gracey Sullins and Leila Shelhammer.

All medals will be presented at the choir’s May 14 banquet. The group’s spring concert is 7 p.m. May 10.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply