Filings close Tuesday, Jan. 21, for various boards across that county that will appear on the April ballot. 

Filings closed Tuesday for several offices that will be filled in April elections.

Voters will decide several city, school, water and county boards.

Here’s a rundown:

On the Houston City Council, two-year terms held by Kevin Stilley, Ward I; Charles “Chalky” Wells, Ward II; and Viki Narancich, Ward III, expire. With the exception of Narancich, all filed. Narancich announced earlier she would not seek re-election. Filing in Ward III is Ross Richardson.

Incumbents Jo Holland, Christie Koch and Darren Ice filed for their three-year seats on the Houston board of education.

Amanda Evetts and Tony Goetz  will seek a seat on the Raymondville school board. Incumbent Shannon Sanders filed earlier. The other two incumbents are Don Schweighauser and Josh Dixon. Schweighauser is not seeking re-election after being on the board for nearly 20 years. Dixon resigned his post Monday, Jan. 13.

The terms of  Doug Caldwell, Joanne Daniels and Andy Cook expire on the Plato board of education. Filing are Diana Atterberry, Brea Fletcher, Andy Cook, Paula Cantrell and Damon Yourchisin.  All are three-year terms.

Gina Umfleet of Licking filed earlier for a five-year term on the Texas County Memorial Hospital board of trustees. On Tuesday, George A. Sholtz Jr. of Plato filed.

Incumbents Benny Bean, Stephanie McKinney and Ross Olson filed for re-election to their seats on the Success board of education.


Leave a comment

Leave a Reply Cancel reply