Houston City Hall is located on Oak Street in Houston. A six-member council, mayor and city administrator oversee the day-to-day operation of city government.


Mayor Willy Walker, office at Houston City Hall, term expires May 1, 2023, 224 South St., Houston, mayor@houstonmo.org., 417-260-5153

Ward I Alderman Sam Kelley, term expires May 1, 2023, Nichols Drive, Houston, ward1b@houstonmo.org

Ward I Alderman Kevin Stilley, term expires May 1, 2024, 628 Oak Hill Drive, Houston, ward1a@houstonmo.org, 217-5298

Ward II Alderman Michael Weakly, term expires May 1, 2023, 610 S. Hamrick, Houston, ward2b@houstonmo.org

Ward II Alderwoman Sheila Walker, term expires May 1, 2024, (appointed to fill vacancy), 112 S. Airport Road, Houston, ward2a@houstonmo.org.

Ward III Alderwoman Angie Gettys, term expires May 1, 2023, 806 Hawthorn, Houston, ward3b@houstonmo.org, 417-967-2741

Ward III Alderman Don Romines, term expires May 1, 2024, 612 Dogwood Lane, Houston, ward3b@houstonmo.org, 417-217-0592


Members of the Houston City Council serve on several committees overseeing segments of city government. 

Public grounds and airport: Kevin Stilley, chairman; Michael Weakly and Angie Gettys

Utilities and buildings: Sam Kelley, chairman; Sheila Walker and Ross Richardson

Economic development: Ross Richardson, chairman; Kevin Stilley and Michael Weakly

Finance: Sheila Walker, chairman; Ross Richardson and Sam Kelley

Personnel: Michael Weakly, chairman; Sam Kelley and Angie Gettys

Police and Fire: Angie Gettys, chairman; Sheila Walker and Kevin Stilley


City Administrator – Scott Avery, second floor, Houston City Hall, cityadministrator@houstonmo.org, 417-260-1733.

The city administrator answers directly to the Houston City Council. He is responsible for the general administration of the city, appointing department heads, program coordination and the implementation of policies.

City Clerk Heather Sponsler, Houston City Hall, cityclerk@houstonmo.org, 573-466-0109

The city clerk serves as the secretary to the city council and is responsible for keeping records of official city business, including minutes, resolutions and ordinances.

Other city hall employees include: Office staff Carol Pittman, Account and City Court Clerk Angie Long, Utility Clerk Mikayla Murray and Parks Director Stetson Evetts.

City Attorney Brad Eidson, 112 E. Main, Houston, brad149@centurytel.net, 417-967-4747.

The city attorney provides legal advice and support for the city council, city staff and boards. He also prepares all ordinances, resolutions, contracts and leases for the city.

City Police Chief Brad Evans, Houston Police Department, hpolice@houstonmo.org, 417-967-3348.

When city hall is closed, call 417-967-5558 or 911 to report an emergency.

Officers: Brad Evans, Mathew Woodmansee, Travis Thompson, Adam Stevenson, Jason Wink, Jordan Goodwin, Art Williamson, Jerrydale Jordan and School Resource Officer Josh Green. 

The police department provides crime prevention and protective services.

Community Development and Economic Development Director Shannon Jordan, Houston City Hall, ec.dev@houstonmo.org, 417-967-3348.

The office of economic development oversees job creation and retention in the City of Houston.


Municipal judge, Conway Hawn; fire chief, Robbie Smith; treasurer, Bruce Wilson; and emergency management director, Robbie Smith. 


Electric: Mike Williams, supervisor; Travis Lunbeck, Robert James III and Braedin Groff.

Grounds and Streets: Bill Ramsey, supervisor; Mike Hock, Reid Long, J.D. Burks and Doug Sutton. The city also hires seasonal help.

Public Transportation: John McCloud, supervisor.

Fiber-to-the-Home: Randon Brown, director; and Tyler Guynn, technician

Wastewater treatment plant:  Keith Hamilton.

Water-sewer: Harley Coulter, supervisor; Bobby Richards, Dustin Hartman and Steve Floyd.

Recycling: Randy Ingram.

Maintenance: Darren Ice.

Houston, is the county-seat of Texas County, located in south-central Missouri. U.S. 63 runs through the community. HOUSTON HERALD PHOTO


Several Houston residents donate much time toward the betterment of the community. They are:

Industrial Development Authority of the City of Houston: Brad Rees, chairman, 2023, chair; Justin Shelby, 2022; Eric Wells, 2025; Tom Dunn, 2026; and Chris Stickland, 2026. Terms are five years.

Houston Parks and Recreation Board:  Vacant, president, 2022; Rachel Choate, 2022; vacant, 2023; Justin Brown, vice president, 2024; Jeff Richardson, 2022; Larry Benoist, 2024; Jennifer Shelton, 2024; Rowdy Douglas, 2023; Wendy Sholtz, 2023; and Heather Sponsler, secretary. Terms are three years.

Houston Planning and Zoning Commission:  Charles Shea, 2024;  Willy Johnson, 2022;  Mary Jordan, 2023; Jeremy St. John, 2023; Tim Hurd, 2023; Joe Honeycutt, 2023; and Michael Weakly, 2025. Representing the city are: Mayor Willy Walker and City Clerk Heather Sponsler. Terms are four years.

Houston Board of Adjustment: Gene Gentry, 2026, Chad Bell, 2024; Dennis Maxwell, 2023; and Bonnie McElroy, 2022. Terms are five years.

Houston Housing Authority Board: Rhonda Ledbetter, 2023; Sharon Sillyman, 2024; Johna Kozemczak, 2024; Marci Mosley, 2025; Laura Spurlin (resident representative), 2025; and Lois England, 2022. Terms are four years.

Updated 7/8/2021