Filings Begin for County Offices

Updated at 12:56 p.m. Friday:

Filings continue at the Texas County Courthouse.

Here is an updated list:

Sheriff: Steven H. Lawhead (R)

Associate Commissioner District I: Sharon Rees (R)

Associate Commissioner District II: Linda S. Miller (D)

Assessor: Shalena Purcell (D)


Texas County Coroner Tom Whittaker led a parade of officeholders seeking re-election to their positions when filings opened Tuesday. The line – which included challengers, too – signals a monthlong process in advance of a primary in August.

Voters go to the polls later this year to decide party nominees for county, state and U.S. positions. The filing deadline is March 25.

The first day brought two candidates seeking the sheriff’s post. Incumbent Carl Watson, a Democrat, filed. Seeking the Republican nomination is Matt Thompson.

John Casey, a Republican, filed for District I commissioner. Joe Whetstine is the incumbent. Associate Commissioner Linda Garrett filed in District II.

Debbie James, assessor, will seek re-election. Lynn Cheek also filed. Both are Republicans.

Seeking re-election are Public Administrator Theresa Campbell, Coroner Thomas Whittaker and Treasurer-Collector Tammy Cantrell. All are Democrats.

Texas County’s representatives in Jefferson City also filed for re-election. Rep. Don Wells, R-Cabool; and Sen. Chuck Purgason, R-Caulfield, filed paperwork in the secretary of state’s office.

Statewide, voters will elect a governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, state treasurer and attorney general. Voters also will a representative to Congress. In the 8th Congressional District, Joe Allen, a Wright County native from Forsyth, filed. The incumbent is Jo Ann Emerson.

Secretary of State Robin Carnahan reminded Missourians that candidates may begin filing for offices up for election in 2008 today beginning at 8 a.m., on the third floor of the James C. Kirkpatrick Information Center, 600 West Main, Jefferson City, Mo. The approximately month-long filing period will end on March 25, 2008, at 5:00 p.m.

County filing occurs at the county clerk’s office at the Texas County Courthouse.

A number of candidates running this year will file with the Secretary of State’s office, including candidates for five statewide offices – Governor, Lt. Governor, Secretary of State, Treasurer and Attorney General, all nine of Missouri’s U.S. House of Representatives’ seats, 17 odd-numbered state Senate districts and 163 House seats. However, candidates for county offices must file with their local county clerk or election board for those races.

Candidates filing on the first day at the Secretary of State’s office will draw a number to determine the order their name will appear on the primary ballot. After the first day, candidates will be placed on the ballot in the order they file. Regular updates will be provided on the Secretary of State’s website throughout the day at, and candidates will be listed in ballot order shortly after 5:00 p.m. on the first day of filing.

In order to file, candidates must have a paid receipt from their political party for the filing fee, a form of identification, such as a driver’s license or a voter identification card, and a copy of an affidavit filed with the Department of Revenue affirming that the candidate is not currently aware of any delinquency in state tax filings. On the first day of filing, representatives from the parties will be on hand to collect filing fees, and representatives from the Missouri Department of Revenue will available as well.

The Secretary of State’s office will be open every weekday for candidate filing between 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. through March 25, 2008. Visit, for more information about candidate filing.

Missouri’s primary election is on Tuesday, August 5, 2008. The deadline for voter registration for the August primary is July 9, 2008. The general election is Tuesday, November 4, 2008, and the voter registration deadline for that election is October 8, 2008.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply