Josh Campbell votes behind a curtain Tuesday morning at the storm shelter in Houston.

Texas County voters go to the polls tomorrow to decide municipal and school races. Patrons of the Houston board of education will decide a $3.5 million bond issue to construct a new building on campus and make other improvements.

Texas County Clerk Don Troutman is predicting a light to moderate turnout. By early this week, only 105 had cast an absentee ballot. The Texas County Courthouse will be open Saturday from 8 a.m. until noon for absentee balloting.

Eight candidates are seeking three positions on the Houston board of education. They are R. Thomas “Tom” Dunn, Garry M. Jensen, Jo Holland, Scott Barton, M. Kevin Reed, Darrell Scheets, Chris Smith and Brian Durham. Dunn is the only incumbent seeking re-election.

Voters at Houston also will cast a vote on the bond issue, which requires a four-sevenths majority for passage. A new library, computer and science labs, as well as additional classrooms would be constructed at the site of the Fine Arts Building. The plan also calls for the replacement of bleachers at the Hiett Gymnasium. If passed, no increase the school’s debt levy would result.

Incumbents on the Houston City Council are unchallenged. They are: Joe C. Honeycutt, Ward I; Joyce Campbell, Ward II; and F. Don Romines, Ward III.

Here is a look at other races on the ballot:

Plato Schools: Four persons are seeking three, three-year positions on the school board. They are: Shellene Beacham, Doug Caldwell, Lori Crabtree and Pete Scurlock.

Raymondville School: Four names appear on the ballot for three positions. Listed are: Robert G. Ellsworth, Don Schweighauser, James Richards and Joe Ceplina.

Summersville Schools: Eight candidates are seeking three slots on the board of education. They are: Kevin Patton, Jonathan Estes, M. Dave McVicker, Pamela Smith, James Spencer, Jeff Atchison, Mike Bell and Melinda Odom.

City of Cabool: Terry L. Jones and Lisa Sanders are seeking a two-year term in the Ward II position.

City of Summersville: Three candidates are seeking alderman’s position. They are: Hugh “Bud” Anderson Jr., Ernest Wheeler and Leroy Wells.

The only county-wide contest is for the Texas County Memorial Hospital board. Incumbent Mark Forbes is challenged by Gregory Bennett of Cabool. The term is for five years.

Election returns can be seen Tuesday at and on the Herald’s information channel seen in Houston, Raymondville and Licking cable households.

A sample ballot appears in The Messenger today. <.b>

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply