MaryAnn Atnip, center, was named the TCMH employee of the year. She is pictured with, from left: Linda Pamperien, chief financial officer; Wes Murray, chief executive officer; and Doretta-Todd Willis, chief nursing officer.

Texas County Memorial Hospital gave out top employee awards and honored 53 employees with service awards Friday night at its 28th annual celebration of employees.

About 200 people, including employees and guests, attended the event at Faith Fellowship Church in Houston.

Hope Best of Houston took top honors as manager of the year, chosen by the hospital administrative team. MaryAnn Atnip of Salem received the employee of the year honor.

Best, an employee of TCMH since 2001, manages the TCMH Medical Complex in Houston.

“Hope has had a banner year,” said Wes Murray, TCMH chief executive officer.

Murray explained that the TCMH Medical Complex has experienced a major increase in personnel in 2010 with the addition of three new doctors and related nursing and clerical staff.

Best also served as the interim manager of the TCMH Mountain Grove Clinic before and when it opened. Best hired and trained personnel for the clinic and assisted in moving established TCMH personnel to the new clinic.

“Hope was even instrumental in the design of the Mountain Grove clinic,” said Linda Pamperien, chief financial officer at TCMH.

Best worked in three TCMH clinics before assisting in the design of the Mountain Grove clinic.

Pamperien complimented Best’s communication skills and ability to work with a variety of personality types.

“Hope has built relationships with each of the physicians that are in her clinic,” Pamperien said regarding the six physicians that work at the TCMH Medical Complex.

“In addition to working with several physicians, Hope has done a great job of managing the office dynamics of adding personnel and rearranging offices,” Murray said.

Murray noted that Best has faced many challenges in the past year, but she has “handled her challenges well.”

Employee of the year is limited to the individuals who have received the honor of employee of the month since the 2009 employee awards ceremony. All employees are allowed to vote by choosing one employee of the month in a secret ballot vote.

Atnip is the administrative secretary at TCMH. She has worked at the hospital for two years. Atnip won employee of the month honors at TCMH in August. She is known for her professionalism with everyone at TCMH – staff, visitors and patients.

“MaryAnn listens with compassion,” said Doretta Todd-Willis, chief nursing officer at TCMH.

Todd-Willis added that Atnip is “an asset to the whole hospital.”

“MaryAnn tries to handle everything that she can on her own,” Pamperien said. She noted that Atnip is “always smiling.”

In addition to managing the hospital’s administrative office, Atnip assists many departments with needs when they arise. Atnip also manages the credentialing and secretarial work for the medical staff at TCMH.

“MaryAnn embodies what an administrative assistant is supposed to be,” Murray said.

Murray complimented Atnip’s ability to prioritize the projects she’s asked to do as well her organization skills and her pride in her job.

“It says a lot to win employee of the year honors, as voted on by your peers, when you work in the administrative office,” Murray said.

The manager of the year and the employee of the year were honored with an engraved plaque, $500 cash, a pin and a day of paid time off.

The TCMH Customer Quality Team honored two employees that exemplified excellent customer service in the hospital organization in 2010. Nancy Fisher, a housekeeper in the hospital’s housekeeping department, and Stuart Mitchell, an assistant in the hospital information technology department, were chosen to receive the honor.

Fisher and Stuart were each awarded a plaque for their efforts and given a cash award.

The Customer Quality Team also recognized the TCMH maintenance and biomedical engineering departments as “Customer Service Department of the Year.” Both departments consistently provide excellent customer service to hospital departments and to patients and visitors, while continuing to try to improve the quality of the service provided by their departments.

Both departments will be provided a special meal in their honor, served by the Customer Quality Team.

Murray and Omanez Fockler, chairperson of the TCMH board of trustees, recognized employees with service awards.

Recognized for five years of service were: Julie Aldridge; Chance Baney; Dorothy Bates; Tina Bay; Lorna Brooks; Pamela Burgdorf; Crystal Fowler; Jay Gentry; Nena Greathouse; Bobby Horn; Paula Johnson; Modena Jones; Avery Parker; Jenny Sawyer; Judy Warner; Chalky Wells; Jessica Williams; and Amy Wilson.

Recognized for 10 years of service were: Diana Blackburn; Colette Briggs; Darlene Burnham; Doug Collins; Teresa Conley; Brenda Cooper; Doug Crase; Gail Crum; Lori Dailing; Tom Herndon; Betty Ice; Jennifer Jordan; Leasa Lamb; Ellen Lee; Leslie Mahan; Amy Mills; Kathy Murray; Melissa Preheim; Janet Robbins; Jennifer Terrill; Amanda Turpin; Libby Waterson; and Linda Williams.

Recognized for 15 years of service were: Rae Ann Cooper; Peggy Hansen; Tammy Jones; Terry Moore; David Spurgeon; and Kelly Tarrants.

Linda Bassett, Bill Bridges, Marylyn Douglas and Rena Roberts were recognized for 20 years of service.

Marlene Collins was recognized for 25 years of service.

Donna Schmidt was recognized for 30 years of service.

TCMH also gave out prizes to hospital employees that had volunteered at hospital events throughout the year.



Leave a comment

Leave a Reply Cancel reply