A line formed before 8 a.m. Tuesday as citizens waited to file for office at the Texas County Administrative Center.

Tuesday marked the first day for filing for county, state and federal offices that will be filled this year.

Party candidates will be determined in an August primary following by the November General Election.

At the county clerk’s office, nine candidates completed paperwork by Tuesday. Incumbent commissioners Linda L. Garrett of Licking, District No. 2; and John Casey of Houston, District 1, will seek re-election. Both are Republicans.

Two Republicans will seek a four-year term as Texas County sheriff. They are: Wes Ellison, Willow Springs, and James Sigman, Cabool. The incumbent, Carl Watson, a Solo Democrat, earlier announced he planned to seek re-election.

County Assessor Debbie James of Solo, a Republican, filed for another term, as did Democrat Tammy Cantrell of Houston, Texas County collector-treasurer, and Coroner Thomas C. Whittaker of Cabool, a Democrat.

Public Administrator Theresa Campbell of Cabool, a Democrat, will seek re-election. Republican Connie Thompson of Cabool filed on the Republican Ticket.

Four persons filed Tuesday for a Senate seat that includes Texas County.

The latest Senate district for the region — released by a commission of five Republicans and five Democrats – shows Texas County in the 33rd District. The panel was appointed after a court threw out an earlier map.

The district — if left to stand — now includes Webster, Douglas, Ozark, Wright, Texas, Howell, Carter and Ripley counties.

Filing Tuesday were Rep. Darrell Pollock, Lebanon; Rep. Don Wells, Cabool; and Mike Cunningham, Rogersville, a former state representative and a Senate aide to Sen. Jay Wasson; and Rep. Ward Franz of West Plains. Pollock’s bet is that the old district — which includes Laclede County — will stand. He lists an address in 28th Senatorial District.

A previously announced candidate, Doug Libla of Poplar Bluff, was shifted to the 25th District under the latest map, and he filed in that district. Libla had raised a significant amount of funds, and with his departure, Franz has generated the most contributions.

Houston’s Chris Purvis and Don Bordwell of Evening Shade filed Tuesday afternoon for the Republican nomination for the 142nd District House seat.

Associate Circuit Judge Colin Long of Waynesville filed for the Democratic nomination for 25th District circuit judge. Bill Hickle of Rolla declared on the Republican Ticket.

Bob Parker of Raymondville filed for the Republican nomination for the 8th Congressional District.


Leave a comment

Leave a Reply