A line formed before 8 a.m. Tuesday as citizens waited to file for office at the Texas County Administrative Center.

Filings opened today for the 2012 election season, which begins with the August Primary on Aug. 7. The closing is March 27.

The terms of several county officeholders expire at the end of 2012. The field is: Texas Coroner Tom Whittaker, Sheriff Carl Watson, District I Commissioner John Casey, District II Commissioner Linda Garrett, Assessor Debbie James, Public Administrator Theresa Campbell, Collector-Treasurer Tammy Cantrell and Surveyor Louis Carmack. All are Democrats except Casey, Garrett and James, who are Republicans. Watson earlier announced his intentions to seek re-election.

Voters also will elect a circuit judge to replace the retiring Tracy Storie. The only declared candidate is Pulaski County Associate Circuit Judge Colin Long, a Democrat. Term limits will end the House career of Rep. Don Wells, R-Cabool, who hopes to replace Sen. Chuck Purgason, R-Caulfield, who can’t seek re-election either. Two men have already announced plans to seek Wells’ seat: Chris Purvis of Houston and Don Bordwell, Evening Shade. Statewide, voters will elect a governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, state treasurer and attorney general.

Voters also will elect a representative to Congress. A Texas County rancher, Bob Parker, plans to challenge the incumbent, Jo Ann Emerson, R-Cape Girardeau, in August. Parker is from Raymondville. The term of U.S. Sen. Claire McCaskill, a Democrat, also expires. The Republican field includes St. Louis businessman John Brunner, Congressman Todd Akin of St. Louis and Sarah Steelman of Rolla, a former state treasurer and state senator.

Houston’s Chris Purvis and Don Bordwell of Evening Shade filed Tuesday afternoon for the Republican nomination for the 142nd District House seat.

Associate Circuit Judge Colin Long of Waynesville filed for the Democatic nomination for 25th District circuit judge. Bill Hickle of Rolla filed on the Republican Ticket. 

Bob Parker of Raymondville filed for the Republican nomination for the 8th Congressional District. 

State Senator 33rd District: Rep. Darrell Pollock, Lebanon; Rep. Don Wells, Cabool; Mike Cunningham, Rogersville; and Rep. Ward Franz, West Plains.  All are Republicans.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply Cancel reply