Wednesday, Oct. 10, is the deadline to register to vote in the General Election.

Elections later this year will bring races for nearly every office in Texas County. Filings closed Tuesday for county, state and federal government.

A last-minute flurry of activity makes it clear: There will be lots of politics. In all, 25 candidates are seeking their party’s nomination for balloting in August. Winners advance to the General Election in November.

There are two declared winners for county office: Chuck Manier of Houston filed for the Republican nomination for county surveyor. Democrat Louis Carmack did not seek re-election. Democrat Thomas Whittaker, county coroner, also did not draw an opponent.

Commissioner Linda L. Garrett of Licking, District No. 2, will face Jeff Breedlove of Licking in the primary. The winner will oppose Democrat Ron Kramer of Raymondville.

John Casey of Houston, District 1 commissioner, will face a challenge from Democrat Rose Ward, a Houston tax accountant, in the fall.

Three Republicans are seeking a four-year term as Texas County sheriff. They are: Wes Ellison, Willow Springs; James Sigman, Cabool; and Tim Ceplina, Houston. The incumbent, Carl Watson, a Solo Democrat, did not seek re-election to focus on his health. Lt. Melissa Dunn of the department filed on the Democratic Ticket.

Republican Kevin McGowen of Houston, a former party chair, will oppose County Assessor Debbie James of Solo in the August primary. There is no Democrat challenger.

Democrat Tammy Cantrell of Houston, Texas County collector-treasurer, drew Republican Jack Hines of Willow Springs as a challenger in November. Another fall race will feature Public Administrator Theresa Campbell of Cabool opposed by Connie Thompson of Cabool.

Associate Circuit Judge Colin Long of Waynesville filed for the Democratic nomination for 25th District circuit judge. Bill Hickle of Rolla declared on the Republican Ticket.

A Cabool man is the latest to file for 142nd District state representative.

Ted Sheppard, a farmer, completed candidacy paperwork on Monday for the Republican nomination. Sheppard is a director on the Intercounty Electric Cooperative board.

He joins Don Bordwell of Evening Shade, Chris Purvis of Houston and Robert Ross of Eunice.

Filing for the state Senate district that includes Texas County are Rep. Darrell Pollock, Lebanon; Rep. Don Wells, Cabool; and Mike Cunningham, Rogersville, a former state legislator; and Rep. Ward Franz of West Plains.

The new 33rd Senatorial District is composed of Webster, Douglas, Ozark, Wright, Texas, Howell, Carter and Ripley counties and may face a judicial challenge. Pollock, a Laclede County resident, hopes the district will eventually include his county.

Raymondville’s Bob Parker will face off in August in a re-match from 2010 with U.S. Rep. Jo Ann Emerson, R-Cape Girardeau. Two Democrats also completed paperwork: Jack Rushin, Popular Bluff; and Todd Mahn, DeSoto.


District 2 commissioner

-Linda Garrett, Licking

-Jeff Breedlove, Licking

District 1 commissioner

-John Casey, Houston


-Wes Ellison, Willow Springs

-James Sigman, Cabool

-Tim Ceplina, Houston


-Chuck Manier, Houston


-Debbie James, Solo

-Kevin McGowen, Houston


-Jack Hines, Willow Springs

Public administrator

-Connie Thompson, Cabool

142nd House seat

-Don Bordwell, Evening Shade

-Chris Purvis, Houston

-Robert Ross, Eunice

-Ted Sheppard, Cabool

33rd Senate District

-Mike Cunningham, Rogersville

-Rep. Ward Franz, West Plains

-Rep. Don Wells, Cabool

-Rep. Darrell Pollock, Lebanon


District 1 commissioner

-Rose Ward, Houston

District 2 commissioner

-Ron Kramer, Raymondville


-Melissa Dunn, Houston


-Tammy Cantrell, Houston


-Thomas Whittaker, Cabool

Public administrator

-Theresa Campbell, Cabool

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply