Ann Tottingham of Houston fills out her ballot Tuesday morning at the storm shelter.

Texas County residents elected a new sheriff in an election Tuesday that saw incumbents retained at the county level.

Cabool police officer James Sigman scored a victory over Melissa Dunn, 7,895-2,779. Sigman, a Cabool resident, won in each of the 10 voting locations and in absentee balloting. A Cabool Republican, Sigman beat Democrat Dunn by 1,003 votes at his hometown voting precinct and across the county to sweep to a four-year term. Sigman replaces Sheriff Carl Watson, who did not seek re-election.

County Clerk Don Troutman said about 68 percent of the county’s registered voters traveled to precincts.

County Commissioners John Casey of Cabool and Linda Garrett of Licking won re-election to four-year terms. Both are Republicans. Casey won over Democrat Rose Ward, 3,737-2,120. Garrett took the District 2 commission’s seat over Ron Kramer of Raymondville, 3,219-1,452. The incumbents won every voting location.

There will be a new officeholder at the Texas County Justice Center. Republican Connie Thompson of Cabool won over Lisa Ruller Dixon of Houston in every precinct to replace Democrat Theresa Campbell of Cabool, who did not seek re-election. The vote for the four-year term: 6,889-3,534.

Treasurer-Collector Tammy Cantrell of Houston easily won re-election to a four-year term over Jack Hines of Willow Springs, 6,530-4,108. Cantrell, a Democrat, won every precinct.

Two associate judges sought a promotion to replace retiring Circuit Judge Tracy Storie. In Texas County, Bill Hickle of Phelps County won over Colin Long of Pulaski County, 6,300-3,999. In the four-county circuit of Phelps, Maries, Pulaski and Texas, Hickle won over Long, 25,923-18,903. Hickle used a nearly 6,000-vote margin in Phelps County to win the four-year term.

Running unopposed were Coroner Thomas Whittaker and Assessor Debbie James, who captured more votes than any candidate on the ballot. Elected surveyor was Chuck Manier of Houston, a Republican, who replaces Louis Carmack of Roby, a Democrat.

U.S. Sen. Claire McCaskill, a Democrat, won re-election in a race that drew national attention. Statewide, McCaskill captured 54.7 percent over Republican Congressman Todd Akin’s 39.2 percent. Libertarian Jonathan Dine picked up 6.1 percent.

McCaskill’s race was called early in the evening based on a strong showing in rural Missouri.

Like Missouri, Texas County voters supported the Republican Ticket of Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan over President Barack Obama and Vice President Joe Biden. The vote was 7,618-2,871. Obama, whose county tally was about 5 percentage points less than in 2008, coasted nationwide to an easy victory, picking up at least 303 electoral votes and winning the popular vote. Obama’s win marked the first time since 1816 the United States has had three consecutive two-term presidents.

Paint Texas County red when it came to statewide races. Republicans easily won each contest:

—Dave Spence won over Gov. Jay Nixon, 5,831-4,635. Nixon won statewide.

—Akin took the county, winning 5,340-4,544, over McCaskill, who easily won re-election.

—Lt. Gov. Peter Kinder was the victor over Susan Montee, a former state auditor, 6,351-3,630.

—Greene County State Rep. Shane Schoeller won over State Rep. Jason Kander, a northern Missouri legislator, 6,562-3,528.

—Cole McNary of St. Louis carried the county over Treasurer Clint Zweifel, 5,944-3,991.

—Ed Martin of St. Louis narrowly won over Attorney General Chris Koster, 5,110-4,972.

Statewide, the picture was different: Nixon became the third man ever to win consecutive terms as the state’s chief executive with a decisive win over Republican businessman Spence. With all precincts reporting, Nixon bested Spence by a 54.7 percent to 42.6 percent margin. Spence called to concede to Nixon around 10:30 p.m.

Koster and Zweifel both won re-election. Kinder, one of two Republicans to hold statewide office, is set to take on a third term. And state Rep. Jason Kander prevailed in the hotly contested race for secretary of state over Schoeller, the House pro tem speaker. While Kander focused on campaign finance reform, Schoeller strongly supported a government-issued photo identification requirement at the polls. Kander and other Democrats opposed such a move as an unnecessary step that could make it harder for some segments of the population to vote.

U.S. Rep. Jo Ann Emerson was easily re-elected to a ninth term. She is a Republican.

Statewide ballot issues:

Missouri voters narrowly rejected for the third time an increase in the tobacco tax. In other ballot issues, they voted by huge margins on Tuesday to approve propositions that will give St. Louisans control of their police department and block creation of a health insurance exchange without legislative approval.

The result was mirrored in Texas County.

They also rejected proposed changes to the state’s nonpartisan court plan, alterations that proponents had backed off of campaigning for in recent weeks.

Texas County’s outcome followed the statewide voting. Changes to how judges are selected was defeated 7,437-2,154.

Proposition A — the police force issue — won in Texas County, carrying 60 percent of the vote.

Texas County residents didn’t want to pay higher cigarette taxes, defeating the matter 6,821-3,708. The insurance exchange measure lost 6,460-3,458.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply Cancel reply