Missouri 8th Congressional District

U.S. Rep. Jason Smith last week announced the formation of a “grassroots team” of activists from the 8th District’s 30 counties to support his campaign for re-election in 2014.

On the list from Texas County are John Casey, Houston; Bob and LeAnn Green, Licking; and Doyle and Treena Heiney, Summersville.

Smith, a Republican from Salem, chose state Rep. Todd Richardson, R-Poplar Bluff, as his campaign chairman. Richardson competed with Smith for the GOP nomination for the congressional special election earlier this year.

Cape Girardeau businessman Doug Austin will serve as co-chairman.

Many of the county-level activists are the same people who served on the committee that nominated Smith.

A possible challenger for Smith is Lt. Gov. Peter Kinder, who also sought the Republican party 8th District nomination in 2014 and recently formed an exploratory committee to look at a run for the seat. A Democrat from Jefferson County, Barbara Stocker, also announced her candidacy last week.

Missouri’s 8th Congressional District covers all of southeast Missouri and a large portion of southern Missouri.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply