Tuesday was the deadline for filings for various boards.

Filings closed Tuesday for positions on several boards that will be filled during elections in April.

The stage is set for positions across the county for schools, cities and county hospital boards.

Filings closed at 5 p.m. Tuesday.

Here are those filing:

Incumbents Sam Kelley and Jo Holland will be joined by Russell Gaither of Houston for three-year terms. Dr. Tom Dunn, the school board president, did not seek re-election.

Five persons are seeking three seats on the Raymondville board of education: They are incumbents Michael King, Don Schweighauser and Paul Murray, as well as Shalena Purcell and Stetson Evetts.

Seeking three seats on the Success School board are: Jennifer K. Shelton, Ross Olson, Mary Glidewell, Kelly Bean and Benny Bean. Olson and Benny Bean are the incumbents for the three-year terms. Carl Huff did not seek re-election.

Filing for three seats on the Plato board of education are: Kristi Tracy-Atterberry, Doug Caldwell, incumbent; Ralph Koehler; Kim Murry-Hodges, incumbent; and Robert Crabtree. The other incumbent was Chad Todd.

Five persons filed for seats on the Houston City Council. They are incumbents Mary Barnes, Ward I (who was appointed earlier to fill a vacancy); Joe Honeycutt, Ward I; Michael E. Moore, Ward I; Sheila Walker, Ward II; and Don Romines, Ward III. 

Karen Hollenbeck Smith of Solo will challenge incumbent Mark Hampton of Summersville  for a five-year term on the TCMH board of trustees. There are no terms expiring for the Texas County Health Department. 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply