A drug task force serving south-central Missouri reported its activities for the third quarter.

The South Central Drug Task Force (SCDTF) said these drugs were seized: 

•96.75 grams of methamphetamine             

•.4 grams of heroin

•.05 grams of cocaine powder          

•3,215.95 grams of marijuana

•113 units/pills prescription drugs               

•28 grams of imitation controlled substance

•20 marijuana plants                                  

•17 methamphetamine laboratories dismantled

The street value of the drugs seized was approximately $39,390.

During this same time period, SCDTF served 13 search warrants and conducted six consent searches.  Thirty-six individuals were arrested on 37 separate drug-related charges.  In addition, 24 firearms were seized.

The task force is a multi-jurisdictional entity serving an 8,000 square mile area in south-central Missouri that includes about 200,000 residents, 10 counties (Carter, Dent, Douglas, Howell, Oregon, Ozark, Phelps, Shannon, Texas and Wright) and the cities of Alton, Ava, Cabool, Houston, Licking, Mansfield, Mountain Grove, Mountain View, Rolla, Salem, Thayer, Van Buren, West Plains and Willow Springs. The SCDTF employs eight narcotics investigators, along with two officers from the Rolla Police Department, one each from the Dent County and Phelps County sheriff’s departments. 

It is coordinated by the Missouri State Highway Patrol, which supplies a management coordinator. West Plains serves as the force’s host.   

SCDTF focuses its efforts on drug enforcement by conducting both covert and overt investigations in the counties and cities served. Its member agencies include the Texas County Sheriff’s Department, Cabool Police Department, Houston Police Department and Licking Police Department.

The South Central Drug Task Force credits its success to cooperation between local law enforcement and the public. Anyone with information regarding illegal drug activity is urged to contact local law enforcement, call the South Central Drug Task Force Drug Activity Hotline at 888-779-9901 (ext. 1), or call the Missouri State Highway Patrol Hotline at 888-823-METH (6384) or 800-BAD-WEED (223-9333).  Callers can remain anonymous. 

Funding for Drug Task Force project is provided by the Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grants (JAG), which is administered by the U.S. Department of Justice, Bureau of Justice Assistance and the Missouri Department of Public Safety. 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply