Stuart Mitchell, information systems director at TCMH, and Cathy Stilley, TCMH Cabool Medical Clinic manager, won manager of the year honors from the hospital.

Texas County Memorial Hospital honored its employees and recognized the managers and employee of the year at the organization’s 32nd annual celebration Friday.

Stuart Mitchell of Mountain Grove and Cathy Stilley of Willow Springs took top honors as co-managers of the year at TCMH for 2014. They were recognized in front of a crowd of around 200 at Faith Fellowship.

Mitchell, an employee at TCMH since 2008, is the director of the information systems department at the hospital. Mitchell and his department have taken on electronic medical records upgrades and federal EMR requirements and new construction and renovation of departments in addition to the day-to-day aspects of the department.

“Stuart could have received this award several times over the past few years,” said Wes Murray, chief executive officer at TCMH. “Stuart is a true manager with a great depth of knowledge and high standards and expectations for himself and his department.”

Murray said TCMH is the envy of other rural hospitals because of the advanced technology implemented and the small number of information system staff members that keep the department running smoothly.

“Our is department is very efficient,” Murray said.  “Stuart runs a model department, and he and his team have the respect of everyone in the hospital.”

Stilley has been the clinic coordinator for Dr. Steve Hawkins in Cabool since 1993. When the clinic became the TCMH Cabool Medical Clinic in 2005, Stilley retained the clinic manager position as an employee of TCMH.

“Cathy’s clinic is a well-run machine,” Murray said. “I hold Cathy responsible for having the systems in place that keep the clinic running smoothly every day. I am confident daily that things went well at the Cabool clinic without even speaking to someone there.”

Murray said Stilley has worked closely with Hawkins for many years and when the doctor and the clinic became part of TCMH, Stilley had “complete buy-in.”

“Cathy never misses an opportunity to relay hospital information to her staff, and she represents TCMH well to everyone that she has contact with,” Murray said.

Carol Turner of Success received the employee of the year honor. 

A registered nurse in the emergency department at TCMH, she has worked at the hospital since 1991. She received the employee of the month honors in December ­­–– the second time she was given the recognition during her tenure.

Employee of the year is limited to the individuals who have received the honor of employee of the month since the 2013 employee awards ceremony. All are allowed to vote for employee of the year by choosing one employee of the month in a secret ballot vote.

“Carol is a great asset to TCMH because she is willing to work whenever or wherever she is needed,” said Doretta Todd-Willis, TCMH chief nursing officer. 

In addition to her position as an R.N. in the emergency department, Turner has also helped out in the medical surgical and intensive care departments as well as serving as house supervisor when needed.

Todd-Willis commended Turner’s calm demeanor under pressure, her organization, knowledge and love of nursing.

“Everyone that has worked beside Carol has great respect for her as a person and as a nurse,” Todd-Willis said.  “I am honored to work with her at TCMH.”

The managers of the year and employee of the year were honored with an engraved plaque, $500 cash, a pin and a day of paid time off.

The TCMH Customer Quality Team honored two employees that exemplified excellent customer service in the hospital organization in 2014. Shannon Bridges, a technologist in the radiology department, and Barb Wade, a technologist in the laboratory, received the honor. They were each given a plaque for their efforts and given a cash award.

The Customer Quality Team also recognized the TCMH pharmacy as “Customer Service Department of the Year.” The pharmacy consistently provided excellent customer service to all departments within the hospital, while continuing to try to improve the quality of the service provided by the department. The Customer Quality Team noted that the pharmacist allows the staff in the department to do whatever is needed to help other departments when issues arise.

The department will receive a special meal in their honor.

Murray and Omanez Fockler, chairperson of the TCMH board of trustees, recognized employees with service awards. Recognized for five years of service were: Holly Atterberry, Shelly Beck, Michelle Bopp, Ray Bruno, Jeff Burress, Paige Crump, Amber Harrison, Cathy Hickcox, Bobby Holt, Dorothy Perkins, Dieu Phillips, Kathrina Pinay, Joyce Rodr, Cody Sells, Brittany Trentham and Randy Vonallmen.

Recognized for 10 years of service were: Connie Brooks, Jay Glover, Michelle Jackson, Amy Jordan, Stephanie Lake, Robin McLarning, Terri Moncrief, Lisa Palmer, Sheena Painter, Sonya White, Eric Wilson and Sam Wilson, Jr..

Recognized for 15 years of service were: Angela Cox, Nancy Fisher, Mary Jungbluth, Anita Kuhn, Kim Montgomery, Charlotte Neal, Ann Hamilton, Donna Sanders, Lea Ann Stein, and Kristy Weaver.

Kim Herndon, Perry Hulvey, Peggy Snow, Sandy Walker and Harry Willis were recognized for 20 years of service. 

Reggie Cole, Cathy Maxwell, Shelia Schafer, Sharon Spurgeon and Barb Wade were recognized for 35 years of service.

TCMH also gave out prizes to hospital employees that had volunteered at hospital events throughout the year.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply