Filings open Tuesday for posts that will be filed during elections in April.

Filings opened Tuesday for several offices that will appear on the April ballot in what will be a big year for elections.

On the ballot are boards for municipalities, schools, water districts, the county hospital and emergency services (Texas County 911). It’s the first election in what will be a full plate in 2016, including races for the White House to the county level, where nearly every office will be on the ballot.

Here are the area board and positions open:

•Houston school board, two, three-years terms. Incumbents are Curtis Hubbs and Jennifer Scheets.

•Houston City Council, three, two-year terms. Incumbents are Joe Honeycutt, Ward I; Sheila Walker, Ward II; and Don Romines, Ward III. Honeycutt and Walker have refiled.

•TCMH board of trustees, a five-year term. The current officeholder is Omanez Fockler, who filed on Tuesday.

•Texas County Emergency Services board will hold its first election after appointments to terms were made earlier by the Texas County Commission. There are four, four-year slots on the ballot and those are positions are held by Bennie Cook, Scott Lindsey, Jim McNiell and Kent Sturgeon. (Filings occur at the Main Street office).

•Success School District, two, three-year terms (held by Melissa Benson and Carl Shelton) and one, two-year term (incumbent Amanda Gale).

•Plato School District, two, three-year terms, held by Darrell Thomas and Dewayne Baker.

•Raymondville School District, two, three-year terms held by Cody Neugebauer and Aaron Scantlin. 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply