A smaller turnout than February’s presidential primary is reported across the county.

By early Tuesday afternoon, precinct officials at Houston reported few voters.

Texas County voters will decide several city, school board and water district races today at voting precincts.

Patrons at Summersville School District will decide a $1.2 million capital improvements plan. At Licking, a half-cent sales tax would be used for transportation needs, if approved.

Polls opened at 6 a.m. and closed at 7 p.m.

On the ballot are:

Cabool School District will select two board members for three-year terms. On the ballot are Vera H. Rose, Deborah Sue Berry, Jacob Daniel Reese, Heidi Bentley, Perry Dobson, Stephen L. Hawkins, Shaun Watson and Jody Jarrett.

Six candidates are seeking two positions on the Houston board of education. They are: Curtis W. Hubbs, Jennifer Rae Scheets, Darren Paul Ice, Delmer Loren Hicks, Roger A. Brallier and Carl “Chip” Lange. Hubbs and Scheets are the incumbents for the three-year terms.

Six names are on the ballot for Plato board of education. Seeking two, three-year positions are: Darrell Jay Thomas, Kassandra Hillhouse, Cody Allen McNiel, Eric T. Crews, Michael D. Hunter and Catrina Todd.

Aaron Scantlin is the only candidate for the Raymondville board of education. A second slot will be determined by write-in votes.

Melissa Benson is seeking a three-year term on the school board at Success. Another position will be determined by write-in candidacy.

Summersville School District voters will decide a $1.2 million capital improvements issue. A levy of 39 cents per $100 assessed valuation would be required.

Two candidates are vying for one, three-year term on the Public Water Supply District 1 board. They are: Virginia Burcham and Rosanna Hathaway.

Frank Stringer and Danny Cannon are candidates for mayor at Cabool. Victoria Castleman Narancich is opposing incumbent Don Romines in Houston’s Ward III. Two persons are seeking a two-year term in Licking’s Ward I. They are: Larry D. Miller and Joe Dillard Jr. Three are on the ballot for Licking’s Ward II: John Whelan, Paul Richardson and Mike Aiken.

Voters at Licking will decide a half-cent sales tax earmarked for transportation needs for five years.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply