Voters go the polls Tuesday, Aug. 2, to decide party nominees for the November General Election.

With only a single county race on the ballot today, a light turnout is expected, the county clerk’s office reported.

Statewide, the centerpiece of the election is hotly contested races for the Republican nomination for governor and attorney general.

Polls opened at 6 a.m. and close at 7 p.m. 

The only race on the local level is for the Republican nomination for District 1 county commissioner. Incumbent John Casey is opposed by Samuel L. “Sam” Kelley. The winner faces Scott McKinney, the Democrat challenger, in November.

Voters also will select among four candidates for the Republican nomination for the 8th District Congressional District. Todd Mahan, Phillip S. Smith and Hal Brown are challenging the incumbent Jason Smith.  The winner opposes Democrat Dave Cowell.

Statewide, four Republicans are seeking the nomination for governor. Catherine Hanaway, Eric Greitens, John Brunner and Peter Kinder hope to challenge Democrat Chris Koster in the fall.

On the Republican ballot for attorney general are Josh Hawley and Kurt Schaefer.

Sen. Roy Blunt faces token opposition among Republicans. He’ll be opposed by Secretary of State Jason Kander, a Democrat, in the General Election.

Here are the contested races for statewide offices on the Republican Ticket:

•Lieutenant Governor: Arnie C. – AC Dienoff, Bev Randles and Mike Parson.

•Secretary of State: Will Kraus, John “Jay” Ashcroft and Roi Chinn.

Here are the contested races for statewide offices on the Democrat Ticket:

•Lieutenant Governor: Winston Apple, Russ Carnahan and Tommie Pierson Sr.

•Secretary of State: Bill Clinton Young, Robin Smith and MD Rabbi Alam.

•State Treasurer: Pat Contreras and Judy Baker.

•Attorney General: Jake Zimmerman and Teresa Hensley.

Running also unopposed in the Republican Primary are: Sen. Mike Cunningham, Rep. Robert Ross, Circuit Judge John Beger; Doyle Heiney, county commissioner, District 2; Laura Crowley, candidate for county clerk; Sheriff James Sigman, Assessor Debbie James, Recorder of Deeds Lindsay Koch, Public Administrator Connie Thompson; Marie Lasater, candidate for coroner; Surveyor Chuck Manier.

Running also unopposed in the Democratic Primary are: Bobby Johnston Jr., candidate for 142nd District state representative; County Clerk Kris Neal, Collector-Treasurer Tammy Cantrell and Coroner Thomas C. Whittaker.

At Summersville, school patrons will reconsider a $1.2 million bond issue for facility improvements that was narrowly defeated in April. A 39-cent levy would repay the funds.

 A sample ballot appeared in last week’s Herald. 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply Cancel reply