Members of the Houston High School 2016 Constitution Revolution prosecution and defense teams share a light-harted moment during a practice session last week in courtroom C at the Texas County Justice Center. From left, Darby Bell, Sydney Anderson, Madison Lawson, Chloe Hunninghake, Kyelor Curtis and and Destiny Pounds. 

Students at Houston High School are preparing for Missouri’s annual high school competition related to the United States Constitution.

This year, the competition is called the Constitution Revolution, following five years of being named the Constitution Project. Launched by Texas County Associate Circuit Judge Doug Gaston in 2011, its objectives are to give students exciting, hands-on experience in possible future careers that are integral to the Constitution and the nation through interaction with workers in the fields of law enforcement, journalism and the courts. It is also designed to provide participants a greater understanding and love of the Constitution through personal experience in the constitutional system, including concepts such as freedom of the press, due process and the right to trial by jury.

Houston’s team will face Dixon, Rolla and St. James in the regional round. Crime scene investigation and journalism team members compete Wednesday in Rolla. The mock trial is Nov. 2 in Houston.

There are 12 schools participating statewide, making up three regions. Regional winners will advance to the state round Nov. 9 in Jefferson City.

A fourth team at state will be comprised of “all-stars” chosen by Constitution Revolution judges from squads that didn’t qualify for state. Team and individual winners at the state competition will earn scholarships and other awards. 

Professionals voluntarily mentoring HHS students this year include attorneys Lynsie Gabel Upton, Bo Anderson and Katie Anderson (attorney group), Houston Police Chief Tim Ceplina, HPD Sgt. Brad Evans, HPD officer Jeremy St. John and several Missouri State Highway Patrol troopers (CSI team) and Houston Herald editor Jeff McNiell (journalism team).


•CSI team

Charlee Sue Jadwin

Cameron Root

Taylor Chipps

Sevanna Rowland

Kylie Stokes

•Attorney team

Destiny Pounds

Kyelor Curtis

Darby Bell

Chloe Hunninghake

Madison Lawson

Sydney Anderson

•Journalism team

Madi Franklin

Jolie Morgan

Leah Otte

Vanessa Kirkwood

Shelby Vassuer

The Constitution Revolution team from Houston High School.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply Cancel reply