Filings opened last week for numerous boards — city, school, county, water and township — that will be filled on April 4.

Here is a rundown:

Incumbents have filed for their seats on the Raymondville board of education. 

Don Schweighauser and Shannon Sanders will seek re-election. The three-year term of Paul Murray also expires.

Three people have filed for three vacant seats on the Houston R-1 School District board of education.

Board secretary Tanya Bathon said incumbents Jo Holland and Sam Kelley as well has Lisa Scott have filed. Incumbent Russell Gaither has not filed. 

A Cabool man has filed for re-election to a five-year term to the Texas County Memorial Hospital board of trustees.

Dr. Jim Perry filed last Wednesday.

No one has filed for three, four-year seats on the Texas County Health Department Board.

Two races have developed for seats on the Houston City Council. 

In Ward III, John Thomas and Kimberly Bittle filed for the seat of David Arthur, who is seeking re-election. 

In Ward I, Donnie Wilson filed for the seat of Mary Barnes, who is seeking re-election.

Both seats are two-year terms. 

Mayor Don Tottingham also filed for re-election, as did Charles “Chalky” Wells, Ward II alderman. 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply Cancel reply