The primary is Tuesday, Aug. 7. 

Filings close March 27 for several county and state offices.

County Clerk Laura Crowley, of Houston, is challenged by Brenda Jarrett of Cabool. Four other incumbents have also filed: Marci Mosley, Houston, circuit clerk; Lindsay Koch, recorder of deeds, Bucyrus; Parke Stevens Jr., county prosecutor, Houston; and Doug Gaston, associate circuit judge, Houston. All are Republicans. The term of Presiding Commissioner Fred Stenger, a Republican, also expires. Glen McKinney of Houston has filed for that job.

Other offices also will appear on the ballot. Bill Hickle of Rolla, the incumbent, filed for re-election to his judgeship in the 25th Circuit. He is completing his first term. Hickle is a Republican.

Three candidates have filed for the 8th Congressional seat: Republican Rep. Jason Smith, Democrat Kathy Ellis of Festus and Libertarian Jonathan L. Shell of Fredericktown. 

Rep. Robert Ross, R-Yukon, filed for re-election in the 142nd district, which includes Texas County.

A Houston man is circulating a petition to become an independent candidate for Texas County presiding commissioner. Keith Ford’s candidacy would require the signature of 2 percent of the registered voters who cast ballots in the last election for the office in 2014, according to state statute. Incumbent Fred Stenger garnered 4,337 voters and ran unopposed. That would require just 87 signatures.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply Cancel reply