Tuesday, Nov. 6, is the General Election in Missouri.

Texas County residents will elect a new sheriff, decide a presiding commissioner’s race and vote on several statewide issues and offices today. In Houston, voters will also decide whether to keep fluoride in the water supply.

{{tncms-inline alignment=”right” content=”<p>Election results will be available on the Herald’s website Tuesday night.</p>” id=”8700f5fe-bad6-4c54-b6a9-829704641ce9″ style-type=”refer” title=”ELECTION RESULTS” type=”relcontent” width=”half”}}

Polls opened at 6 a.m. and close at 7 p.m. Absentee ballot requests were high in the county. More than 900 had requested them by Monday afternoon.

PDF: Sample ballot for Tuesday’s election

Two races are on the county ballot.

Two law enforcement officers are seeking to fill the unexpired term of James Sigman, who was indicted and charged with multiple felonies in July. Doug Kyle of Bucyrus is the Democrat nominee for sheriff. Scott Lindsey of Licking was selected by Republicans. The term expires on Dec. 31, 2020.

Residents will also elect a new presiding commissioner. Democrat Rick Dixon of Raymondville opposes Republican Scott Long of Cabool. The winner replaces Fred Stenger of Houston, who filed for re-election and later withdrew.

Long beat Republican challengers Bill Villapiano and Glenn McKinney in the August primary. Dixon did not have an opponent.

Running unopposed in the county are: Robert Ross, state representative; Bill Hickle, circuit judge, division 1; Douglas Gaston, associate circuit clerk; Laura Crowley, county clerk; Marci Mosley, circuit clerk; Lindsay Koch, recorder of deeds; and Parke Stevens Jr., prosecuting attorney.

Crowley, the incumbent, defeated Brenda Jarrett in August.

Houston’s ballot will include the fluoride decision. It has been part of the water supply for 16 years. The measure was placed on the ballot by the Houston City Council.

Several propositions and constitutional amendments also will be decided by Missouri voters. They are:

•Amendment 1 — Campaign finance reform and redistricting.

•Amendment 2 — Marijuana for medical purposes.

•Amendment 3 — Medical marijuana and creation of research institute for cancer treatments and incurable diseases.

•Amendment 4 — Bingo changes.

•Proposition B — Minimum wage increase issue.

•Proposition C — Marijuana for medical purposes.

•Proposition D — Gas tax increase.

The marquee statewide race is for the U.S. Senate. Claire McCaskill, the two-term Democratic incumbent, is challenged by Jason Hawley, the Republican state attorney general since 2017.

Two other statewide offices will be decided. The incumbent state auditor, Nicole Galloway, a Democrat, is opposed by Republican Saundra McDowell, a lawyer who previously worked in state government. Jason Smith, the Republican congressman from Dent County, is opposed by Kathy Ellis, a Jefferson County Democrat, who is a therapist and drug addiction counselor.

Election results will be available on the Herald’s website Tuesday night.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply Cancel reply