Texas County Memorial Hospital gave out top employee awards and honored 41 workers with service awards at the 37th annual Celebration of TCMH Employees on Friday at the Melba Performing Arts Center in Houston. 

In attendance were approximately 125 employees, many with guests, for a total attendance of about 200 people. 

Connie Brooks of Mountain View took top honors as manager of the year at TCMH for 2019.

Brooks, an employee at TCMH since 2004, is the education department director at TCMH.

“Connie is so much more than just an education director,” Amanda Turpin, quality director said. “She is always willing to take on projects to help serve our employees, patients and community. If there is a project or task that needs done, Connie will make it happen and give 110 percent while doing it.”

Turpin added, “I am thrilled to see Connie receive the honor of manager of the year and cannot think of a more deserving person for this award!”

“I was very surprised to be selected for this award,” Brooks said. “I would like to thank administration for this recognition.”

Brooks mentioned that she loves the people that she gets to work with, and she appreciates how everyone cares so much about each other.

 “I think working in a rural area has a lot of challenges, but it allows us to work more closely with colleagues and our patients,” Brooks said. “Truly, we all know each other.”

Brooks added a congratulation to the other awards recipients for the year.

“These people represent what we want for others and they truly do an amazing job,” Brooks explained.

Nancy Branson of Houston received the employee of the year award.

Employee of the year is limited to the individuals who have received the honor of employee of the month since the 2018 employee awards ceremony.  All employees are allowed to vote for employee of the year by choosing one employee of the month in a secret ballot vote.

Branson is a registered nurse in the intensive care unit at TCMH, and he has worked at TCMH since 1986.

“Nancy is a strong nurse and provides excellent patient care,” John Sawyer, house supervisor said. “She is dedicated to TCMH and always displays a positive attitude.”

“It is an honor to be chosen by my peers for this award,” Branson said. “I look forward to the next years ahead of working together as a team to continue providing quality healthcare to our community.”

The manager of the year and the employee of the year were honored with an engraved plaque, a $500 check, a pin and a day of paid time off.

The TCMH Customer Quality Team honored two employees that exemplified excellent customer service in the hospital organization in 2019.  Missy Hensley and Renina Pearce were chosen to receive the honor. Hensley works in the Cabool clinic and Pearce is employed in administration.

“I am very honored and humbled to receive my customer service award from TCMH,” Hensley said. “I work with such a great bunch of people, not only in our clinic but at the other clinics and the hospital as well.”

Hensley added that doing her job is a pleasure because everyone is so kind and that she loves her patients.

“It is a privilege to work with such amazing people at TCMH,” Pearce said. “I am thankful every day for the opportunity to be a part of something that touches so many lives.”

Hensley and Pearce were each awarded a plaque and a $150 check.

The Customer Quality Team also recognized one hospital department with a “Customer Service Department of the Year” award.  The Business Office received the award.

The department will receive a special meal in their honor.

Murray and TCMH board member, Omanez Fockler, recognized employees with service awards. 

Sheila Schafer was recognized for 40 years of service.


TCMH board of trustee’s member, Janet Wiseman, was recognized for 29 years of service to the hospital.

Kim Herndon, Perry Hulvey, Peggy Snow, Harry Willis and Don Wilson, 25 years.

Angie Cox, Nancy Fisher, Anita Kuhn, Ann Hamilton, Donna Sanders, Lea Ann Stein and Kristy,  20 years.

Stephanie Barrett, Connie Brooks, Michelle Jackson, Sheena Painter, FNP, Lisa Palmer and Eric Wilson, 15 years.

Ten years were: Shelly Beck, Ray Bruno, FNP, Bobby Holt, Kathy Norris, Dorothy Perkins, Dieu Phillips and Brittany Salazar.

Recognized for five years were: Sarah Anderson, Christopher Baldwin, MD, Cameron Brown, Robert Derrick, Tamra Dodge, Jennifer Gunter, Kathi Hale, Whitney Hall, PA-C, Billy Hebblethwaite, Missy Hensley, Nancy Hovelson, Deanna Macnaughton, Linda Milholen, MD, Sarah Moore and Mariah Thompson.

TCMH also gave out prizes to hospital employees that had volunteered at hospital events throughout the year.

In addition to the ceremony, the event included a slide show featuring pictures taken throughout the year, games provided by the TCMH Employee Activities Committee and a surprise visit from Santa Claus.


Leave a comment

Leave a Reply Cancel reply