Filings open Feb. 25 for several posts whose party nomination will be decided in August. 

Filings for county offices — along with state offices — open today, Feb. 25.

In Texas County, voters will elect several county officeholders. The four-year terms of Associate Commissioner District 1 John Casey, Associate Commissioner Doyle Heiney, Sheriff Scott Lindsey, Assessor Debbie James, Collector-Treasurer Tammy Cantrell, Public Administrator Connie Thompson, Coroner Marie Lasater and Surveyor Chuck Manier all expire.

Residents also will elect a new state representative in the 142nd District and a state senator for the 33rd District. The terms of Rep. Robert Ross and Sen. Mike Cunningham both expire and each is prohibited from serving additional years due to term limits. All are Republicans except for Cantrell, who is a Democrat.

Also appearing on the ballot in August are township committeemen and committeewomen from each of the county’s political parties.

Voters in Missouri will also elect officeholders in five positions. The terms of Gov. Mike Parson, Lt. Gov. Mike Kehoe, Secretary of State Jay Ashcroft, State Treasurer Scott Fitzpatrick and Attorney General Eric Schmitt expire. All are four-year terms. Kehoe, Fitzpatrick and Schmitt were appointed by Parson after the resignation of Eric Greitens, the former governor, who was the subject of a House investigation and other inquiries. All are Republicans.

A representative to Congress also will be elected. The two-year term of Rep. Jason Smith, R-Salem, expires.

County filings occur beginning at 8 a.m. at the county clerk’s office at the Texas County Administration Center. State paperwork occurs in Jefferson City at the secretary of state’s office. 

For more information on candidate filing, visit Questions can be directed to the office’s Elections Division at 800-669-8683.



Leave a comment

Leave a Reply