Filings closed Dec. 28 for various offices.

Filings for several posts to be decided in April 5 closed Tuesday, Dec. 28.

Here is a look at the filings:

The field for the Houston school board are incumbents Jeff Gettys and Jennifer Scheets, as well as challenger Andrew “Andy” Wells. They are three-year terms.

Three filed for a five-year term on Texas County Memorial Hospital board of trustees. They are George Sholtz of Upton; incumbent, Jim Perry, O.D., of Cabool; and Beverly Clark of Houston.

In the City of Houston, a race developed in Ward III and Ward I. Former council members Joe Honeycutt and Don Romines will seek the seat vacated by Ross Richardson, who did not seek re-election. In Ward I, Sam Kelley, who earlier was appointed to the board, completed candidacy paperwork for a one-year term. No one else filed.

The term of Kevin Stilley also expires. He filed on Tuesday. A challenger, Dale Depler Jr., completed candidacy papers on Monday, to oppose Stilley. In Ward II, Sheila Walker filed. She is unopposed.

At Cabool, Mayor Donnie Wells withdrew his name this week after filing earlier. Four declared for mayor: Lane Daniel, Shyanne Daniel, former mayor Danny Cannon and Brenda Jarrett.
Ward I Alderman Sam Mudd and Ward II Alderman John Williams will run unopposed.

For Cabool Board of Education, there will be two seats on the board decided, each for a three-year term.

The terms of Jacob Reese and Shaun Watson expire. Joining the incumbents on the ballot are Tony Hughes, Dennis Brown and Nadine Wallace.

Plato School District board candidates are: For a two-year term created by a vacancy is Stacy Fletcher. These candidates filed for two, three-year term positions:  Robert Murray, Eric Crews, Jody Fry and Don Rose.

At Raymondville School, incumbents re-filed: Cody Mosley, two-year term; Rebecca Mills and Aaron Scantlin, three-year term and Jason Hughes, one-year term.

At Success School, here is the field: Three, three-year terms —  Lucas D. Jones, Alanson D. Cline III and Jessica Beth McNew. For a one-year term, Lacey McNiel filed.

The only candidates filing for the Texas County Emergency Services board were incumbents, Bill Bridges, TCMH EMS director; Brad Evans, Houston police chief; and Pat Burton, Licking police chief. It oversees the 911 system in the county.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply