Here are filings for the April 4 municipal elections.

Candidate filings include school boards, municipalities, water boards and other political subdivisions. The deadline was 5 p.m. Tuesday, Dec. 27.

Ross Richardson filed recently for a five-year term on the TCMH board of trustees. George Sholtz filed last Wednesday. Jerri Sue Crump threw her hat into the ring Tuesday. The term of Jay Loveland expires. He did not seek re-election.

At the Houston School District, the three-year terms of board members Jo Holland, Darren Ice and Christie Koch expire. Filing are Ice, Dustin Hartman, Marty Merckling and Tressie Neugebauer.

Three persons filed for three, three-year positions on the Plato board of education. They are: Paula Arlet Cantrell, Patricia Diana Atterberry and Andrew Michael Cook. They are incumbents.

The three-year terms of Tony Goetz, Shannon Sponsler and Jason Hughes expire on the Raymondville board of education. Only Goetz filed.

There is a three-way race for mayor. Filing are Mayor Willy Walker, Viki Narancich and Glenn McKinney. In Ward I, incumbent Sam Kelley is opposed by Fred Stottlemyre. Angie Gettys is seeking re-election in Ward III. She will be opposed by David Higgins Sr. who filed last Wednesday. Tim Ceplina filed in Ward II. The incumbent in Ward II is Michael Weakly.

The terms of Jim Hagler and Edward Williamson expire for the Texas County Health Department board. They are four-year terms. Both have re-filed. George Sholtz filed last Wednesday.

Clarification: Sholtz did file for both county hospital board and county health board.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply